I haven’t had much time or good weather to get out and do any birding recently.  Having the itch to use my camera I was looking around my back yard and realized I have these little lizards I don’t know much about and they are all over the place.  So I grabbed my camera and snapped a couple shots.  The male is the more colorful version below.  When I zoomed in on these little guys I could see their ancestral resemblance to dinosaurs; specifically they look like mini velociraptors to me.  After doing a little research I found out they are non-native to Florida.

Female Brown AnoleDSC06926 G3.jpg
Click image to enlarge

Brown Anoles were introduced to Florida around 1887 in the Florida Keys and have flourished ever since.  They have a dewlap or a throat pouch they stick out from time to time.  They stick it out for breeding purposes and to establish territory.  I have seen them show off their throat pouch many times, but I haven’t captured it on camera…yet.   Stay tuned for future blog posts of my backyard mini velociraptors in action.

Male Brown AnoleDSC06940 G3.jpg
Click image to enlarge

References:

http://loyno.edu/lucec/natural-history-writings/anoles-and-dewlaps

http://loyno.edu/lucec/natural-history-writings/anoles-and-dewlaps

 

